Monday, August 10, 2009

President Obama to give Medal of Freedom to Harvey Milk!

Rob Epstein has been invited by The White House to attend this year's 2009 Presidential Medal of Freedom Ceremony. President Obama will present the awards at a ceremony on Wednesday, August 12.

WASHINGTON – President Obama today named 16 recipients of the 2009 Presidential Medal of Freedom. America’s highest civilian honor, the Medal of Freedom is awarded to individuals who make an especially meritorious contribution to the security or national interests of the United States, world peace, cultural or other significant public or private endeavors.

Read the full press release from The White House here.

Ted Kennedy Jr. (left), Kiki Kennedy and Rob Epstein, at the White House Presidential Medal of Freedom Awards where Senator Ted Kennedy and Harvey Milk were both honored.

CA Senator Mark Leno (left), Bruce Cohen, Anne Kronenberg, Dustin Lance Black and Rob Epstein

President Obama awards the Presidential Medal of Freedom posthumously to Harvey Milk, as received by Milk's nephew, Stuart Milk.


No comments: